Notes about doctors in Taiwan, Belarus and Germany

ImageSome days ago my sweet host brother caught a cold. You know a simplest and lightest cold you can ever imagine. No fiver, no headache, no sore throat, just cough and a running nose. But Taiwanese doctors were probably sure the nine-year-old boy is threatened by mortal danger. He was prescribed to take 5 pills 3 times a day (you can see them on the pic). I am sorry but WTF??? O_o

I though this is the hobby of doctors in Belarus to provide you with as many pills as possible, especially with antibiotics. Ohhh, they love poisoning you with this garbage! It seems that they don’t have a clue about existence of other, gentler remedies.  But as I see now Belarusian doctors can’t keep up with their colleagues from Taiwan. The latest feel even more obliged to prescribe you a whole pile of various tablets. You know just to be 100% sure this knockout medication dose will fix you up. I assume quantity equals quality in this case.

This situation represents a total contrast to the situation in Germany because German doctors are very cautious in prescribing medicine. I have already been to the doctor several times in Germany and every time I come there complaining about a cold they say: “Ohh, your body is fighting. Just stay in bed, drink as much as possible and everything will be fine”. I heard it every time, no matter how high my fiver was, 37.4 or 39.6. I have to admit I am pretty happy with their attitude. The times of taking antibiotics every time I catch a cold (and this happens for sure 3-4 times a year) are in the past. The era of herbal tea and homeopathic remedy has entered my life 🙂

Note:
in Taiwan people pay for medical insurance every month.
+ they have to pay each time they go to see a doctor. The cost depends on the age of a person (old people pay the least).
+ They have to cover some costs for the prescribed medicine.
Good thing: no appointments are required. Just go there, line up and wait for your turn.

(Oh, I wish some doctors in Germany would also use this system!)

5 thoughts on “Notes about doctors in Taiwan, Belarus and Germany

  1. Indeed, this national healthcare system Taiwan is quite convenient for citizens and foreigners as well . Yet , the problem you pinpointed is worthy of refection . Not only abused by patients , but also doctors and precious medical resource were over used . You have clearer view than most people living on the island .

    Allen

    Like

    • Thank you for your opinion, Allen! I appreciate it very much!
      I am very glad I’ve presented the situation in a right way.
      As for the clearer view… I think the problem of many people is that they don’t question their way of life but just accept what is given/ what is conventional in their society.

      Like

  2. Yes, I went to see a doctor here several times and every single time I will l leave the doctor with 12 pills to take a day (4 pills three times a day). The mix generally includes painkillers and antibiotics. A lot of times I was out of the office in two minutes, the doctor just looked into the throat and prescribed medicine (at least one of those pills could work…). No tests are taken, just by barely looking the doctor will prescribe antibiotics. I asked my Taiwanese friends several times why to eat so much medicine, and they told me because people like to take care of their health…Hmm…

    Like

    • Thank you for you comments, Helena!
      My taiwanese fiends used to tell me the same: “because people like to take care of their health…”
      But I think they just blindly trust doctors and think that the more pills they get, the sooner they will get healthy again (or that a big amount of medcines will make them healthy FOR SURE, like if the first pill won’t work, the second one definitely will).

      Like

  3. But on the other hand, I love the convenience of being able to see the doctor right away. I am from the Czech Republic and we also have a similar health system as Taiwan, but our doctor’s working hours are very short, and if you want to see a doctor you often need to wait for a month to see dermatologist or any routine check up…

    Like

Leave a Reply

